Opinions on best camera available for the money!
>
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Opinions on best camera available for the money!

This is a discussion on Opinions on best camera available for the money! within the CommanderTalk.com Member's Rides forums, part of the Member's Forums category; I am getting ready to purchase a Camera for the side x sides. I am looking for opinions and prices on the different camera's? So what do you think is ...


  1. #1
    Sitting Idle
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    DefaultOpinions on best camera available for the money!

    I am getting ready to purchase a Camera for the side x sides. I am looking for opinions and prices on the different camera's? So what do you think is the best bang for the buck?

  2. #2
    Sitting Idle
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Also thoughts on the Go Pro Hero 960 compared to Hero HD

  3. #3
    Founding Member Rhinorehab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Gresham, Oregon
    Posts
    345

    Default

    If price is most important, I'd go with GoPro HD. I use a Race Optics HD camera. I had a video posted on here about it. It's a little more expensive but is in a league of it's own when it comes to features... I've also used an iPod nano to shoot action video. The video quality is not as good but with 4" of duct tape, you can mount it anywhere!

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CommanderTalk.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    CommanderTalk.com Founder dieselpowered's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Peoria, AZ
    Posts
    1,424

    Default

    I just received a GoPro HD as well as a Race Optics HD system...I am going to be doing a writeup on both. Straight out of the box, the Race Optics system seems to be a great unit. Granted the GoPro does allow you to purchase an add on that allows you to see what you are recording as well.

  6. #5
    Founding Member diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    hinton alberta
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Post some vids!

  7. #6
    Founding Member SandCyco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I got the 960 for $165 shipped from Ebay. New in the box with all the accessories. Sometimes I am not sure if I am on or off, but I like it for the $.

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3WLoUCf74o]YouTube - Grouprun1[/ame]

  8. #7
    Founding Member Flyingbryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    543

    DefaultVideo Camera

    RZR Ray,
    I looked at the top three and I ended up with the ContourGPS camera.

    Here is what you will see out there:
    ContourHD $250
    ContourGPS $330 at Costco now for only $300
    Drift HD170 $330
    Drift HD170 Stealth $350
    GoPro HD Hero 960 $180
    GoPro HD Hero $300

    There are other verisons and some other cameras out there but these seem to be what you will find most of the time. And you can find better prices then I posted above but this is the basic going price. I would get a HD camera because if you go back and watch it on most anything you will see a big difference and you can always record in low quality.

    FYI MicroSD memory cards are about $100 for 32 gigs, Less for SDHD cards. Fry's had great prices. (you want high speed, class 6 to 10 for MicroSD. 32Gig and Class 10 is as fast & big as it gets). Another thing it can take a long time, like hours to move video around from camera, computer, to website.

    Most people are going with the GoPro because they have the best advertising. But from what I can tell the video is very simular all all of them.

    The mounting is good for all of them and getting better by the day, but the GoPro has the biggest profile if you mont it on your helmet. The Contour and Drift will allow you to rotate the lens for easy mounting. One note on mounting is watch my videos and you will agree the rear roll mounts are the best way to go for stable shot.

    GoPro will soon allow you to buy a plug in view finder but the Contour will now allow you to use your iPhone & Android to view what the camera sees (not during recording and mybe 6fps) and make changes to the settings on the camera, and the Drift goes one further with a built in viewfinder that will allow you to not only see what your shot and ajust the settings but also watch the video you just shot (I like that).

    ContourGPS not only does video but also tracks your postion so wile watching your video on there website (contour.com) you can see your position on Google Earth at the same time in the corner of the screen. (You can see this on my first 4 video links below using flash, sorry no iPads)
    One down side to the Contour.com videos is you need flash so if you post there no one with iPhone or iPad will be able to see it. But you can always post on youtube.com with out any problem, just no Google Earth in the corner of the video.

    Drift has a remote record button that will save battery and memory for when you need it.

    My first choice would now be Drift Stealth, then ContourGPS and then GoPro HD. You might also want to rent one of each before you by because you might find out you really like one or the other for some reason.


    Here are some videos I shot with my ContourGPS cameras.

    The first four links have the video on the Contour.com website and the others are at youtube.com. Looks like Contour.com does not show up like youtube on this forum but like I said you can post the same video on youtube.com.

    Go full screen on the contour.com videos and have fun with the Google Earth (Zoom in and out, move the map)

    If you like my videos feel free to give a thumbs up on the sites. Thanks

    Contour >> FILE0006 by flyingbryan

    Contour >> Can Am Commander, Hungry Valley 02A by flyingbryan

    Contour >> Suction Cup Mount by flyingbryan

    Contour >> FILE0009 by flyingbryan

    http://contour.com/stories/file0005--111

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iy1yNhWBM1M]YouTube - #36 Round and round, Hungry valley[/ame]

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2T_8GdXfc-U]YouTube - #35 Can Am Commander 1000 XT (hood cam / see helmet cam for same video)[/ame]
    Last edited by Flyingbryan; 03-26-2011 at 06:20 PM.

  9. #8
    Founding Member Ricefarmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Central Arkansas
    Posts
    74

    Default

    I understand that you like the remote on the Drift, and the built-in viewfinder.
    Are these the primary reasons you prefer Drift over Contour?
    Thanks, John
    Last edited by Ricefarmer; 03-26-2011 at 09:23 PM. Reason: ?

  10. #9
    LBR
    LBR is offline
    CommanderTalk.com Staff LBR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Great links that you have researched out FB....thanx for everything ...Lance

    ...sent with TapaTalk...please excuse brevity & no smileys

  11. #10
    Founding Member Flyingbryan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    543

    Default

    Yes the viewfinder is a must!
    (GoPro will have a plug in viewfinder soon, but that will bring the cost up a little)
    The rotating lens is a huge plus on the Stealth and ContourGPS. When mounting you don't alway have a level spot for the camera and there is not a lot you can do from there but get a large bracket to level the camera back up, or if you have a rotating lens you could just mount the camera flush.

    Now if you are only going to get one camera and mount it on a roll bar you could get away without a viewfinder but even that you will have to make a couple of trial runs to get it right.

    I have already had a number of videos that had the view set too low, at a angle, or off to one side a little. And if I have had a view finder I would be using those videos but they will never see the light of day because of no view finder. It can be especially hard to get it right on a helmet mount for any camera.

    The videos I did shoot were without a view finder and you can see it very clear what I am talking about on the suction cup video, and there are others that were bad enough I just deleted them.

    The GoPro was my first choice, but I couldn't get past the shape and no view finder. There was no reason to go in that direction without any other benefit other than it is advertised on everything. I have used other helmet cameras in the past that plugged into a Arch's DVR and I would get back with 2 hours of video that was unusable all the time.

    The Stealth was not out at the time so I was all over using a iPhone to set up the view on the ContourGPS camera. I am just getting up to speed with the iPhone app on the ContourGPS but it has it's issues. I have four cameras and for now on this first version you have to connect each camera in the bluetooth settings, then go to the Contour App to use it. Then it logs its self off after a couple of minutes even if you are not done, so you have to log in again. And you can't view or delete recorded videos on the camera.

    With all that said when the Stealth came out with a clean looking black camera with a view finder built in that is perfect!
    The best part is you can mount the camera out of reach and start & stop the recording only when needed with the included remote. YouTube and other online video sites will only allow 2 Gigs or 15 minutes at a time so you really don't want 30 minutes long videos that later have to be cut. Not to mention your computer will slow way down when working with large video files so you want to keep them short if you can. I have 6 Gigs of Ram on my desktop and I am going to up it to 64 Gigs of Ram soon just to work with the videos.

    I have not used the Stealth or GoPro so I am just going by the features. I would say rent each camera and you can see what works best.
    Last edited by Flyingbryan; 03-27-2011 at 11:25 AM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Best sport camera....
    By Rhinorehab in forum Off-Topic Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 02:34 PM
  2. Busted Out the Camera
    By Razorback Dave in forum CommanderTalk.com Member's Rides
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 07:46 PM