Can-Am Commander Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to Can Am and I'm interested in purchasing a 2012 Can Am Commander Limited. I'm also interested in the Factory UTV uhmw skid plates, and the Camoplast Tatou UTV 4S tracks for the Commander. Any words of wisdom(good, bad, or otherwise) on these ideas would be great! Thanks for your input. So far, I'm enjoying all the experience here in the forum.

·
Registered
188 Posts
I bought a Can Am Commander 2012 1000X and I really like the fit and functions of the UTV Skid Plates. I mostly ride in real rocky areas where speed is not so much the factor, but protection of coming down hard on a rock or having a downed tree coming up as you run over it causing damage to your machine are a real issue. If I was a sand dune rider I would not worry about them as much.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
uhmw skid plates

I bought a Can Am Commander 2012 1000X and I really like the fit and functions of the UTV Skid Plates. I mostly ride in real rocky areas where speed is not so much the factor, but protection of coming down hard on a rock or having a downed tree coming up as you run over it causing damage to your machine are a real issue. If I was a sand dune rider I would not worry about them as much.
Hi MCM,

Thanks for the note! I like the uhmw skid plate idea even more now! Factory UTV has a 1/2" one piece I'm interested in. The forward end of the one piece is bent/folded up at a 90 degree angle at or near the area where the lateral plates should be to prevent debris from getting between the plate and the machine. There is the higher shipping costs associated with this rather large piece, however.

I don't have this dream machine yet, hopefully I'm not going to be disappointed with this machine. It feels pretty good so far!

·
Registered
188 Posts